Completing Form Tasks
About Forms
Forms are accessible from the workflow task details. The ‘Complete Form’ task allows end users to open a form. If the task is still in progress the form is editable – allowing the user to enter and save form data. Once the task is completed, the form can still be opened, but in a view-only mode.
In the screenshot above:
-
- Click Open Form to open the form. When the task is in progress, the form will be editable so you can update the form values and save the form data.
- After saving the form data, click Complete to finish your task.
Note: If there are no required fields on the form task, it would be possible to complete the form task without opening it and entering data.
Entering Form Data
The following is an example form as the user would see it when the task is in progress. Because the task is in-progress, you can edit and save data.
The form has two tabs: Overview and Printer Info. Here is the Overview tab:
Required and Optional Fields
-
- Fields in red containing an asterisk are required:
– All required fields must contain a value for the form data to be saved
– Validation can be configured to occur when the user attempts to switch tabs or when the user clicks Save. - Fields in black are optional
- Fields in red containing an asterisk are required:
-
Resetting Form Values
- Click Reset to set the form back to its original (default) values
-
Navigating Form Tabs
- If the form contains multiple tabs as seen above the user can navigate between tabs by either clicking on the tab itself, or using Next and Previous buttons at the bottom of the page.
Closing the Form
-
- Once the values are entered in the fields, click Save. Note: The <Save> button only appears on the last tab of the form.
Note: Closing the form window by selecting ‘x’ will not automatically save data entered into the form.
- Once the values are entered in the fields, click Save. Note: The <Save> button only appears on the last tab of the form.
Completing Form Tasks
-
- After saving the form with the values, click Complete to complete the task.
When a Complete Form task has been completed (submitted) the workflow advances to the next step. If a user opens a form for a completed ‘Complete Form’ task the user will view the form in a view-only mode.
Saving Form as PDF
When a form is open for editing or viewing, the click Save as PDF to generate a PDF of the form and its data. Your browser will prompt you to either open the file or save it locally.
Once the PDF file is saved locally it can be distributed to others or even uploaded back into the workflow as a reference document or file to be reviewed and approved downstream in the workflow. The PDF version of the form will look exactly like the online rendering with one exception: forms that contain multiple tabs, we be flattened to a single page PDF.
Note: The Save as PDF option will create a PDF rendering of the form using the current (saved) values in the system for attribute fields contained within the form.
Working with Approval Candidate Forms and Cycles
When a Complete Form task is saved as an approval candidate, whenever a new cycle is created (i.e. due to canceling, redoing, rewind or rejecting the cycle), all of the required and optional form values are copied to the new cycle.
For more information on related topics, visit these links…
To configure Complete Form tasks on the template, see Form Task Nodes more information.
For more information about template task node settings, see Task Node Settings.
For more information about managing forms tasks, see Form Administration.

